Day 5: Old Man Logan (2015) #5

COMIC TITLE: Old Man Logan (2015) #4
Brian Michael Bendis- Writer
Andrea Sorrentino- Artist
October 7, 2015
Marvel Comics

img_7195With one issue left in the miniseries, I was definitely looking for answers just like Old Man Logan is and here is the final issue. In the last issue, we see Logan battle zombie symbiotes, zombies, and symbiotes, but he’ll run into a She-Hulk while in this hell. They try to figure out a way to get out of the hell, but she ends up sacrificing herself to let him leave and he ends up in New York City. When he wakes up in New York City, he’ll run into a few familiar faces in Emma Frost and a young Jean Grey, but how can that be? That is when all is finally explained in this issue as to why he sees them and just where is he and what is his purpose. Is this issue the end all or is this just the beginning of a bigger story that lies ahead for Marvel fans everywhere? As always, I try not to give away too much information on the story because I want you to read it for yourself after all.

img_7197I am definitely somewhat satisfied with the explanation that I got about why he sees the X-Men and it’s kind of interesting, but it kind of doesn’t explain how he ends up crossing different domains all the time. Is this real or is this all in his head and we can ask if this is just him going through hell because he is dead or is he alive? While they did a good job answering my question that had been looming for a couple of issues, they leave you on a major cliffhanger. I was like you have to be kidding me, but this plays into a huge problem I have with Marvel and DC at the moment. They’ll come out with a series and do about four or five issues and instead of continuing it on, they’ll start from one all over again. They have been doing this for the last couple of years with so many different characters and such. I guess I could have a bigger complaint than that, but that doesn’t affect my opinion on the issue itself. The artwork as you’ve seen is one of my favorites just because I love the arthouse style of it. The entertainment value of the issue is pretty decent as it continues to suck you in before spitting you back out wanting to read the next issue of Old Man Logan. Check out my grades below and to read this issue, please click here.

Grades:

Story/Plot: A

Artwork: A+

Character Representation: A

Entertainment Value: A

Overall Series Grade: A

Leave a Reply

