Day 6: Convergence: Booster Gold #1

COMIC TITLE: Convergence: Booster Gold #1
Dan Jurgens- Writer
Raúl Fernández and Alvaro Martinez – Artists
April 29, 2015
DC Comics

convergence_booster_gold_vol_1_1For today’s 365 comics in 365 days comic book, I wanted to travel to a different comic universe that was outside of Marvel Comics after five straight days of it. So after a friend suggested it, we are travelling to DC Comics Convergence universe for Convergence: Booster Gold #1. In this issue, Booster Gold is a time traveler who is running away from some security guards when we first join him, but that is because he is stealing some sort of technology that he is to deliver to the other version of him from another dimension. When we get there, we discover the other versions son who is in a big hurry to save the other Booster Gold who is dying due to the effects of time travel. They soon discover that something is wrong with the universe that they are in and they are paid a very special visit from some guys who were not expecting them at all.

bgoldconv_1_3I have to be completely honest in saying that I am not too familiar with the DC Universe and a lot of it’s various characters. So, when I first heard the name Booster Gold I was like who in the heck is that? What I can tell you is that I am glad my friend suggested this particular title to me because he is actually very interesting. He is a time traveler who made his name changing events in history to benefit him. When we first meet him here, the main version is one who is enjoying the things he does while the other is the battle hardened version of him. The version that is like, “man why did I sign myself up for this?” The story is very interesting and it leaves you in a sort of cliffhanger, but my only part that bothered me is the jargon.  The flying disc robot tries to explain the convergence, but in a very smart way and it sort of left me a little bit confused. Other than that I really enjoyed the dynamic that was developing in the various relationships. You know that the flying robot and Booster are going to make a great combo. I also enjoyed the artwork in the comic for sure which is pretty traditional looking in style and it’s very easy to follow for sure. To see more about the comic, go here and check out my grades below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: A- (the computer jargon bugged me a little)

Artwork: A

Character Representation: A

Entertainment Value: A

Leave a Reply

