Day 14: Street Fighter X G.I. Joe #1

COMIC TITLE: Street Fighter X G.I. Joe #1
Aubrey Sitterson- Writer
Emilio Laiso – Artist
February 2016
IDW Publishing

gijoesf-01-covera-f0df1-800x1214There were two things in life that I was a fan of as a kid and one was G.I. Joe and the other was my Street Fighter II game for Sega Genesis. IDW Publishing decided to take both of those things and they combined them into one for Street Fighter X G.I. JOE and we have the first issue for you guys today. It’s a hidden island somewhere in the world and Destro and M.Bison have joined forces to hold a tournament that pins G.I. Joes against Street Fighters. They plan at the end to crown the world warrior when it is all said and done, but there may be more to this alliance than everyone knows. This issue contains four of the first round matches as you see Snake Eyes take on Crimson Viper, Rufus vs the Baroness, Hakan vs Roadblock, and Ryu vs Jinx. If this first round seems great to you wait until you check out whose fighting in the second half of the first round. To read this issue and to check out more from IDW Publishing, please click here.

gi-joe-1I have to admit that I was a little skeptical heading into this issue because I didn’t really know what to expect from Street Fighter X G.I. Joe. What we did get was basically a fighting based comic book with a little bit of a backstory between Destro and M.Bison. The fighting scenes are okay, but then again there is only so much you can do with drawings that animation takes care of. Still the story is starting to unfold, but I think we’ll get more I’m sure in the further issues. I do however like how the characters were represented in this issue because I feel they have stay true to who each one is. I was a fan of the artwork though and I like what they did especially with RYU who is a pain in the you know what to beat in the video game. The panels are easy to read as you can see to the left of this paragraph and the artwork is cool. There are some holes here and there, but as I said I am hopeful for what the future issues have in store. Check out my grades below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: B

Artwork: A

Character Representation: A+

Entertainment Value: B+

Leave a Reply

