Day 22: He-Man/Thundercats #1

COMIC TITLE: He-Man/Thundercats #1
Lloyd Goldfine, Rob David- Writers
Freddie E. Williams II – Artist
October 5, 2016
DC Comics

1I am not a usual fan of Mashups in comic books or at least I have never really bothered to check them out until I read The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/Batman crossover. One day I was walking through the comic book store when I noticed two of my favorite 80’s cartoons in comic book form so I picked up the first issue of He-Man/Thundercats. Right from the beginning of the issue we see the Thundercats greatest enemy Mumm-Ra getting defeated by Lion-O on third earth. Mumm-Ra runs away in defeat back into the black pyramid where the evil spirits confront his failures. They are displeased with him and his many failed attempts that they send him on a mission to another world known as Eternia where they want him to capture a sword that is yielded by He-Man in order to battle the Thundercats and do the spirits bidding. The comic features all of your favorite characters and more and if you want to read more information on the comic, you can do so by visiting DC’s website here.

I really wasn’t sure how I was going to like the issue or if they would be able to pull it off, but I have to say that I was pretty pleased with the first issue. At least pleased enough to want to give the next issue a shot. I definitely enjoyed the set up of how they entered the other world and the dynamics that had to pulled off in order to do so. I love how they represented the characters as far as both sides were concerned and I definitely loved the dynamics on the He-Man side. Their is a huge twist at the end of the first story that is enough to hook you in to wanting to continue. The artwork is really good and I definitely enjoy it more than the 80’s cartoon series only because they add more dimension to certain characters that you will meet. The panels are pretty easy to read and follow along so you shouldn’t have any trouble. If you are a fan of He-Man and Thundercats or either one then you should definitely at least give this one a shot. Check out my grades for the issue below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: A

Artwork: A+

Character Representation: A

Entertainment Value: A

Leave a Reply

