Day 24: Rock & Roll Biographies: White Zombie

COMIC TITLE: Rock & Roll Biographies: White Zombie
Michael Aushenker- Writers
Mats Engensten – Artist
November 16, 2016
Acme Ink

383670_20161120013014_largeFor those that know me know that I am a huge fan of heavy metal music and biographies. So when you combine those two elements, you will always certainly have me excited to want to read. To top it all off, when you decided to combine those elements and make it a comic book, I will definitely try it out for sure. Rock and Roll Biographies from Acme Ink presents the biography of legendary horror metal act White Zombie on side and a short biography of Rob Zombie on the other side. The comic book takes a look at how the legend of White Zombie started from it’s inception to it’s very end and what happened to the band members afterwards. The other story will explore life for Rob Zombie after he left White Zombie all the way up to the present times. I tried to find a website for all of you to check out just in case you were curious about more than just this issue, but truth be told I couldn’t find it. What I do have is the comic book database site that contains info about what they have published.

$_57The comic book is basically a small scale biography of the band and it’s history so if you don’t know enough about the band then check it out. If you’re looking for information that maybe hasn’t been said yet then no need to look here. It’s a cool enough story about a band that I truly love. My only issue is with the phrasing of some of the words in some of the bubbles because they don’t make a lot of sense when you read it out loud. Other than that, it’s interesting something different that I haven’t seen before. The artwork is really old school looking as far as the drawings and in black and white which means no color for those of you that love that. One thing I noticed is that some of the artwork will contain parts that look life like, almost like a picture that was placed in there. I couldn’t find any examples of the artwork from this issue, but if you look they have plenty of other issues in the rock and roll biographies series. The panels are easy to follow along and there is some interesting scenes in the issue. Despite the grades I may give this issue, it’s not going to deter me from checking out anymore in the series because I am interested to see what else they have.

Grades:

Story/Plot: A-

Artwork: B-

Character Representation: A+

Entertainment Value: A

Leave a Reply

