Day 47: Secret Wars: Agents of Atlas #1

COMIC TITLE: Secret Wars: Agents Of Atlas #1
Tom Taylor- Writer
Steve Pugh– Artist
October 21, 2015
Marvel Comics

IMG_8183Now that the X-Men Apocalypse Wars is behind us, I thought it was time to do a little exploring through my comic book collection that I have yet to read and I stumbled upon one that peaked my interest when I saw it. I mean who could say not to a cover that features a gorilla in a red suit? I surely couldn’t when I picked up Secret Wars: Agents Of Atlas #1 which was written by Tom Taylor and drawn by Steve Pugh. The world as we know it in this issue has been taken over by Baron Zemo who runs the show and is in control of S.H.I.E.L.D. If you speak out against him, he turns you into a weapon X killing machine. After one of Atlas’s agents (a group fighting against the tyranny of Zemo) goes missing, they fear he could be in line to become one of Zemo’s Weapon X’s so Gorilla Man and some others go to try and save him before it’s too late. If you would like to read more about this issue or anything else Marvel related, please click here.

IMG_8185I was to find out that this was actually the only issue in the series and that Marvel hasn’t done anything with it because it’s a really fun concept. I thought that it was a really cool idea that they essentially only explored for one title and I get it, but it would be cool to revisit maybe the origins of Atlas and how Gorilla Man became himself because he is a curse after all. The writing for this is great as it features all the twists and turns you would expect out of a suspenseful story and all the turns of some of the great espionage stories as well. Another great part of this story of course is the great artwork from Steve Pugh who brought these characters to life on the pages. The panels are easy to follow along as you can see from the picture to the left of this paragraph. Maybe, I’ll try to appeal to Marvel about bringing back the Agents of Atlas so we can give these guys some justice. I definitely think this is an issue you should check out especially if you like these kinds of stories. Check out my grades below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: A+

Artwork: A+

Character Representation: A+

Entertainment Value: A+

IMG_8184

Leave a Reply

