Day 52: The Great Lakes Avengers #1 (2016)

COMIC TITLE: Great Lakes Avengers #1 (2016)
Zac Gorman- Writer
Will Robson– Artist
October 12, 2016
Marvel Comics

AUG160785I have always been a very visual person which is probably why I love comic books so much in the first place besides the fact that they are bad ass. One of the things about being a very visual person is the fact that I sometimes buy things based on what they look like rather than what is inside it. I know I am guilty of judging a book by it’s cover, but that was how record buying was back in the 1980’s especially if you were a metal fan. That is also precisely the reason why I bought the issue that we are looking at today in the Great Lakes Avengers #1 just because the Hip Hop variant was a parody of MC Lyte’s Lyte As A Rock. In the first issue, Flatman (Dr. Val Ventura) is visited by a lawyer whose last name is Ferarri who has been hired by the Avengers to find him. Flatman makes a deal that he’ll give up his pursuit of owning the Avengers name in exchange for him to get the band back together, but there is one problem and it’s reaching everyone to get them back in the fold. To read more about the issue, please click here to go to Marvel’s website.

great-lake-avengers-1-3All I have to say is that this was a pretty interesting issue and obviously I have more than that to say. The best way to describe this comic book is to look at it like it’s the comedic version of the Avengers or the b-movie superhero film that comes out that is not supposed to be taken as serious as The Avengers. However, do not let that statement fool you because this issue can offer you some laughs along the way that may just be what the doctor ordered for a change. I loved the story and the direction it was heading because you could tell it was getting better by the page for sure. The artwork is really cool and I can definitely dig the characters and the way they look. Its very traditional in style and the panels are super easy to follow along with so you shouldn’t have an issue there. The comic was enjoyable to read and I liked the dynamics of the characters involved. I just wish I bought the second issue to see what happens next. Check out my grades below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: A

Artwork: A

Character Representation: A

Entertainment Value: A+

Leave a Reply

