Day 53: The Lord Of Gore #1 (2016)

COMIC TITLE: The Lord Of Gore #1 (2016)
D.B. Stanley- Writer
Daniel Leister– Artist
October 19, 2016
Devil’s Due Entertainment

LordOfGore_01_Cover-A_1024x1024I wanted to read something different and the comic that I picked for today definitely caught my eye when I was looking through the shelves at my local comic book store. One of the ways that you can definitely peak my interest is by appealing to a couple of my senses. One you have to attract the attention of my eye with an amazing cover and two if it’s horror based then it’s definitely for me (I know that wasn’t a sense). Devil’s Due Entertainment did just with their horror based comic The Lord Of Gore which seems to come out maybe three or four times a year (at least that is what it looks like). In this issue, we are at a horror convention for a film called The Lord Of Gore whose main character is a Headsman. Danny Graves (a writer for the film) is about to find out that he is out of a job, but life is looking like it’s about to imitate art in this issue. To read more about the comic and anything else that Devil’s Due Entertainment has, you can do so by clicking here.

thThis comic book is playing out like a horror film and I am sorry but I am absolutely hooked. I have to wait a whole month before I can read the next issue of the comic, but I can make it. The book feels and moves like a horror film would with the set up, the hook, and the mystery behind the cryptic like messages. It has the style (sort of) of A New Nightmare where Freddy Kreuger came into the real world instead of the film world that they portrayed in the film except we don’t know what is going on yet with our killer or who he even is. It just feels like it’s taylor made to be a film if someone chose to do it. I really like the various characters that we’ve met so far in the story which means I am invested so thanks a lot D.B. Stanley. Daniel Leister makes it even harder because the artwork really kicks ass and is graphic like us horror fans love it. Just a quick reminder that this comic is not suitable for children. This is definitely worth checking out if you can find it. Check out my grades below for the issue.

Grades:

Story/Plot: A+

Artwork: A+

Character Representation: A+

Entertainment Value: A+

Leave a Reply

