Day 60: Spider-Gwen #0 (2015)

COMIC TITLE: Spider-Gwen #0 (2015)
Jason Latour– Writer
Robbi Rodriguez– Artist
November 4, 2015
Marvel Comics

spider gwen 0One of my favorite superheroes in the Marvel Universe always used to be Bruce Banner a.k.a. The Hulk, but later on in life something changed. That is when I first laid eyes on the one and only Spider-Gwen a.k.a. Gwen Stacy who in a different universe than Spider-Man gets bitten by the spider and not Peter Parker. For those of you out there that know that issue #0 is usually an origin story that was featured in another comic, but is provided to give you the skinny on just who they are. That is the case with today’s issue of Spider-Gwen #0 which was written by Jason Latour and drawn by Robbi Rodriguez. In the issue, Spider-Gwen or as they refer to her as Spider-Woman is accused of killing Peter Parker who in reality was jealous of Gwen so he tried to transform himself, but became a lizard monster instead. Gwen is now torn because her father is after Spider-Woman and her band mates (The Mary Janes) are annoyed with her as well. She is absolutely torn as to what to do, but that will all change when a monster named Alekse comes to visit. To read more about the issue and anything else Spider-Gwen related, you can do so here at Marvel Wiki page.

spidergwen 0As I said before, this is one of my favorite comic book series out there right now and my favorite Marvel superhero. So, I may be a little impartial to her in this review, but I will do my best to judge. I honestly the story that we have here where we are in an alternate Spider-Verse (If I may) and Gwen is now the hero of Metropolis and she is hated by Jameson. The thing that I really liked about this issue’s story is that you get a couple of surprise monkey wrenches thrown in there by the writer to which I will not reveal at the moment (basically read it for yourself). There is drama in the story because she is going through a big time dilemma because her dad wants to arrest her basically. The artwork in my opinion is very cool and the series always has some of the coolest covers that I have seen. The covers in my opinion are eye catching and the artwork inside of it is awesome as well. The panels are easy to follow along with so you shouldn’t have a problem reading it. Check out my grades below and be on the look out for more issues soon.

Grades:

Story/Plot: A+

Artwork: A+

Character Representation: A+

Entertainment Value: A+

Leave a Reply

