Day 74: Ms. Marvel #1 (2015)

COMIC TITLE: Ms. Marvel #1 (2015)
Takeshi Miyazawa and Adrian Alphona– Artists
G. Willow Wilson– Writer
November 18, 2015
Marvel Comics

Ms._Marvel_Vol_4_1We are moving right along smoothly as we celebrate Women’s History Month here on 365 Comics In 365 Days and for today we are going with a character that may confuse some considering there is a Captain Marvel and a Ms. Marvel now in the Marvel Universe. At one time, Captain Marvel (Carol Danvers) was Ms. Marvel until Marvel decided to make her the Captain. Now we have Kamala Khan is our brand new Ms. Marvel in today’s issue Ms. Marvel #1. Ms. marvel is having one heck of a time as a member of the Avengers along with Tony Stark, Nova, Thor (Jane Foster), Captain America (Sam Wilson), Vision, and Spider-Man (Miles Morales). So what could possibly be going wrong for her? Oh yeah, you see there is this thing called life that seems to be plaguing her like homework, friends, and a love life. What is Ms. Marvel to do now that her main squeeze that she thought was has someone new? Well, I think you should read about it for yourself. To find out more on how to read the issue, etc. please click here to go to Marvel’s website.

SJOkVkTjListen I get why Marvel decided to do what they did with this comic book, but what is contained inside this issue initially made me stop buying it. This is like watching an episode of the Gilmore Girls, but with cool superheroes that make appearances on occasion. That is what bothered me about the comic to begin with so I couldn’t go any further with it because I am not the target audience for it. I am not saying that it’s bad in anyway, but not my cup of tea. The panels are easy to follow along with and read so you shouldn’t have an issue there. I definitely like the artwork in the comic so I am not going to downgrade that in any way, but as I said I am not a fan of the story. I chose the artwork to the side because that is basically what the comic was about for me. Check out my grades below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: B-

Artwork: A+

Character Representation: A

Entertainment Value: B-

Leave a Reply

