Day 79: Bitch Planet #1 (2014)

COMIC TITLE: Bitch Planet #1 (2014)
Valentine De Landro– Artist
Kelly Sue DeConnick– Writer
December 10, 2014
Image Comics

BitchPlanet_01-1We are moving right along very smoothly with our Women’s History Month and while we have checked out comics from both Marvel and DC Comics, I wanted to take the time to check out a comic from another company. Besides my love of superheroes, horror movies, I am also a fan of B-Movie/Grindhouse exploitation films from the 70’s and 80’s and when I saw that Image Comics had a comic book entitled Bitch Planet that was the culmination of all that, I had to check it out. What if I told you that we lived in a world that if a woman was bad and didn’t comply that we would send them to another planet for rehabilitation? You would probably think that I am either a sexist misogynistic pig or just out of my mind, but I am here to tell you that it exists. Well at least in the comic book Bitch Planet #1 where a woman by the name of Marian Collins feels that she has been wrongfully placed there and while she gets help from other women in the prison, her husband fights for her freedom or at least we think he is. To check out more from the comic and whatever else, just click here to go to Image Comics.

bp4You may be wondering why I stuck in this comic into Women’s History Month, but it’s a comic written by women and it explores how strong women can really be and how they have been in all the women in Prison films. I really liked how the comic book started out because it’s almost like it’s setting up the rest of the season of a TV series for us to watch about women in prison having to obey the outlandish laws of man. The issue really explores how deceiving man can be and you’ll learn that right away in the issue especially with the use of the nun and so forth. The artwork I am not 100% crazy about, but that doesn’t mean that I hate it. It definitely has that modern look to it, but it has that Aeon Flux kind of look to it as well if you get what I am saying. It has that Grindhouse look and feel as well as an Adult Swim look to it too which I do like. The panels are easy to read and follow along with so you shouldn’t have any trouble there. Check out the comic for yourselves and check out my grades below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: A

Artwork: A-

Character Representation: A

Entertainment Value: A+

Leave a Reply

