Challenge 2: Day 205: Duckman #1 (1994)

COMIC TITLE: Duckman #1 (1994)
Craig Yoe Studio, Clizia Erling, and George Erling– Artist
Stefan Petrucha– Writer
November 1, 1994
Topps Comics

130991-18667-110256-1-duckmanI feel like growing up in the 90’s was a very weird time and  have a good reason for saying that. If you think about the cartoons we were exposed to as kids I really feel were not meant for kids. Think about it for a second, we had cartoons like Ren & Stimpy, Beavis & Butthead, Liquid Television, and one of my favorites in Duckman. With that being said, we were exposed to stuff that was super cool and beyond anything we had seen before so I was a happy 90’s kid. That is why when I saw today’s comic in Duckman #1, I had to cover it even though it’s not Throwback Thursday. Duckman #1 was written by Stefan Petrucha (Deadpool: Paws) and it was illustrated by Craig Yoe Studio (Alice In Comicland), Clizia Erling, and George Erling (Alien Encounters). In this issue, Duckman is up late one night when he hears and sees something that dazes him that he stumbles and some hallucinogens messes him up really bad that he can’t remember the traumatic event. Now it is up to Cornfed to find our Mallard friend before he gets too crazy.

9grhDQr6One thing I want to get out there is that I did like the comic a lot, but I did have some issues with it as well. I loved how crazy the story is because it reminded me of what I loved about the TV series. You know the fact that he got really high off of an aerosol can could have been them sending a message to kids to not do it or you’ll go crazy.  Anyways, one of the problems that I had wit the comic is that the word bubbles were way too hard to read at times and that was a little bothersome. I get that it’s a comic book and it has a lot of pictures in it, but you still have to read the dialogue to know what is going on. Other than that, I liked the artwork a lot in the comic as they did a great job keeping it as close to the TV series as possible. If you were a fan of 90’s cartoons like this one then you’ll definitely enjoy reading the comic. It was crazy to think that Topps was in on comics at one time, but unfortunately we all know how that goes. Check this out online and check out my grades below:

Grades:

Story/Plot: A

Artwork: A-

Character Representation: A+

Entertainment Value: A+

Leave a comment